萍聚社区-德国热线-德国实用信息网

找回密码
 注册

微信登录

微信扫一扫,快速登录

萍聚头条

查看: 964|回复: 5

Six Ugly Secrets of the Cosmetics Counter(zz)

[复制链接]
发表于 2010-7-20 09:33 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式

马上注册,结交更多好友,享用更多功能,让你轻松玩转社区。

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有账号?注册 微信登录

x
If you’ve ever set foot in a department store, you’ve probably had to navigate through the beauty and fragrance gauntlet—bombarded by salespeople in medical-inspired lab coats, spritzed with the latest scent, or pressured to be “made over” with the season’s newest colors.

I used to be one of these people. For seven years, I worked as a makeup artist in almost every high-end retail store—from Saks Fifth Avenue to Barneys. Dressed in the beauty-counter uniform of head-to-toe black, my job was to make people spend—even if they didn’t want to. If I failed? Well, I was out of a job. Most cosmetics counters run on freelance labor, and beauty companies supply stores with makeup artists who work without benefits and with little job security. But the pay is decent, the free products are great, and without a college degree, my options could have been worse. So I spent my days dutifully, but not happily, stopping strangers like you to ask, “Would you like a makeover today?”

How Beauty Affects Your Job, Career, Life
Newsweek Poll: How Much Is Beauty Worth?
Video: 'Looksism' Goes Pop
Why I Don't Care About the Beauty Standard

Eight years later (and with a B.A. from Sarah Lawrence College), I’m a photo editor at NEWSWEEK—and an artist documenting the beauty industry. I also, on occasion, reveal the tricks of my former trade. (Like how I was trained to turn “I’m just looking” into several hundred dollars in sales.) So before you head to Bergdorf’s, or any other department store, consider these six secret tactics of beauty-counter makeover artists:

1. Invoke science.